Happy Half Birthday, DD!

Dearest DD -

I can’t believe you are six months already!  Time does seem to fly (sometimes, others, it just crawls by).  This month was really fun – you are doing a lot more and definitely more aware and your little personality is coming out!

You are a big baby – 100%tile for height (29 inches), 90%tile for weight (20 lbs) and head size (18 inches).  That is good – you are growing to your fullest genetic potential!  and you are just thriving – a healthy, happy baby is all I ever wanted, and you certainly are both.

It was a big month of firsts for you, as well…

First playgroup meeting.  You are all, I am going to rule the playgroup roost!  Hahaha!  You are not the oldest one, but you were the oldest one at this first meeting.  I think you will likely be the biggest baby :-) for a while.

You also started “school” this month.  So far you have gone 2 times and came home with 2 different pieces of “art” that you did.  I love it!  There are 3 babies on the day that you go, with 2 teachers – I am sure you all get so much loving.  Both times, on your daily report, they have put down for your “General Mood” as SUPER happy!  Yay!

We have been working on sitting up a little bit, and you can do it for a few seconds, but then you usually flop over.

You love love LOVE being on your belly!  And in the full Superman pose – head and knees / feet off the ground, arms back with hand in a very aerodynamic position.  Dad tried this pose with you, and after about 1 minute he was exhausted, but not you – can do this all day long.  Such a strong boy! (We tried to get JJ into this pic, but he was very suspect and stayed away)

JJ loves having you around.  When you are not, he is always asking about “baby”.  and you love having him around – one morning J was not feeling so well, so he came in with me to put you down for your nap, and I didn’t think it would really happen, but it did.  You did not mind at all having him there!

Auntie Yarbs also loves being around you.  She is so helpful – on Thursdays her schedule is such that I don’t have to bring you to drop off or pick up for JJ’s school.  It is quite fabulous!  She loves your kisses and to snug snug with you.

And you love your Dada so much!  You always have a huge smile whenever you see him.  You love to slime him, that is for sure.  and he doesn’t mind at all (now that is love for ya!).

DD, Dada and I love you and your brother so much!  We are so excited for you two to be the best of friends!  Thank you for being such a sweet, sweet baby.  Love you guys more than anything in the whole world!

Love,

Mama

2 responses to “Happy Half Birthday, DD!

  1. Such cute photos! I can’t decide which one I love best – dad and dd doing the superman or JJ giving DD kisses! I missed my boys today…hope to see them soon!
    oxox

  2. DD,
    You are my little bruiser and this month you have continued to get more and more interactive and develop new skills. You have a really strong grip and when you grab onto something it is tough to pry your little fingers off it. You look at me like “nice try big guy, but no way am I letting go of this moose, blanket, etc, without a fight.” You have really strong legs and anytime I try to hold you all you want to do is show me how you and use those legs to climb over me or bounce up and down. When I try to put you into a sitting position you scream “surf board” and show of your ab strength by refusing to bend in the middle. You also like to use your big meathooks to swat at my head when I am making funny noises at you. I have to be on the alert. If you were to catch me with one of those haymakers sports announcers would eb screaming “down goes Dada! down goes Dada!” I have little doubt that you would be dancing a little jig on my limp body proud of your dominant show of strength. You are a very determined and strong willed little guy so I think Mama and I will have our hands full with you.

    You like to smile, but almost seem bashful as you seem to avert your eyes when you break out one of your big grins. Almost like you are about to say “aww shucks” or something to that nature.

    You are ok with me reading books to you, but don’t seem to love it quite as much as your GuGu did. You prefer to be up on the move and shecking out different parts of the house or looking outstide or in a mirror. You are clearly a man of action.

    You seem to be ok with my singing, but prefer that I do it after you have a full belly so that you can doze off or just chilax. You are doing a good job with your solids, but you still prefer the liquids and will sometimes get upset if Mama tries to change things up and lead with the solids. You will have none of that! This month you mastered the art of strawberries and seem to prefer doing it right after Mama has given you a big bite of solids. You make your strawberries and spray Mama down with the food just to show here who is boss.

    I love you so much and am so excited for the next six months as you start to get more mobile and more interested in wrestling with Dada. We have had a few matches and as of today you are 3-0. I will get you one of these days, but you have a low center of gravity and cat like relfexes. Must have gotten those from your Mama!

    Love,
    Dada

Leave a Reply

