Printing

For a while now, I have been wanted a Gocco printing machine.  It is a tool you use to screen print things at home (and it seems much easier).  I am taking a silk screen printing class right now, and it is great, but super labor intensive.  This little Gocco machine, though the prints are much smaller, seems very easy!  [Its official name is:  PRINT GOCCO PG-5 SET and I believe a company called RIZO makes it]

goc-pg-5-set.jpeg

From what I can gather, this machine is made in Japan, and may be discontinued?  But folks here in the US are trying to keep it around… anyway, since Marmidy is in Japan right now, I thought maybe, if she has a little spare time, she could try to get a machine for me (and inks and bulbs!).  [Mom – if you can get it for less than $200UDS, then buy it!]
But what exactly is Gocco, you ask?

cleverly combining the basic priciples of screenprinting and rubber-stamping, “print gocco” is a clean, easy, and fully self-contained compact system that exposes and prints all in one unit. using flash bulbs similar to those found in old cameras, an original image is thermally imprinted on a master screen. next, colorful prints are made by pressing the ink-applied master screen against a sheet of paper placed on a sponge pad. 

I should take some photos at class or the next time I print, so if you are unfamiliar with conventional screen printing, you can picture what I am learning to do…  and then you will see why this little Gocco machine is so attractive!

2 responses to “Printing

  1. Very interesting. In a related matteer I am considering taking classes in Gocco-Roman Wrestling. We used to have to wrestle in high school PE clas and I was pretty decent becuase I have a low center of gravity and cat-like reflexes. There is a decent chance that if I had not elected to pursue investment banking I could have competed as an Ultimate Fighting Champion.

    I remember when I first met Ting she always told me how fast she was and how she was the state champion in the 100 and 200 for Texas private league schools. I told her how I was a public school kid and how her private league records probably wouldn’t have held up in the rough-neck environment of Medway Jr./Sr. Public High School.

    Anyway, so one day within the first week of meeting her I put her mad sprinting skills to the test to prove my point. As we were walking I pinched her buttocks and then took off with my aforementioned “cat-like” speed. Ting was on my heals in hot pursuit. That is for the first 2 to 3 feet anyway. After that I pulled away and Tingaling was eating my dust.

    Respectfully,
    Boom Boom

  2. LIES LIES LIES! Boom is clearly an arse-hooole. He has never once beaten me in a foot race. He is lean and mean now, but there was a time in the not too distant past when his nickname was not “Refugee” but rather “Fatty”.

Leave a Reply

