Lunch

I made a delicious dish for lunch today – organic quinoa, corn and potato stew. YUM! I am really quite pleased with how it turned out – and it was easy! Though it is not really a stew, but that is ok. I got the recipe out of Carole Raymond’s “Student’s Go Vegan Cookbook” (that I checked out from my local library – hey, we all pay for the public library system, so we should go ahead and use it!) and doubled all of the ingredients (so we could have left overs, as her recipe only makes 2 servings).

studentsgovegan.gif

Boom kinda “discovered” quinoa for us, back before I was even a veggie. It has gotten a lot of press in the last 6 months or so – and it kept coming up in periodicals that he would read. It is a super food – contains protein, a balanced set of essential amino acids for humans, making it an unusually complete food. This means it takes less quinoa protein to meet one’s needs than wheat protein. It is a good source of dietary fiber and phosphorus and is high in magnesium and iron. Really great for veggies!

qunioapot.jpg

It also only took 1 pan to cook it – so clean up shouldn’t be too bad. This dish has onions, red peppers, red potatoes, and corn in it, in addition to the quinoa.

qunioa.jpg

The final garnish is fresh cilantro and red pepper flakes – which really makes the dish complete. I love fresh cilantro – as it makes everything taste fresh! and a little heat is alway good. Very yummy!

Normally, I would have made this for dinner (perhaps with a spinach salad), but I am heading over to my friend’s house for dinner tonight. I feel kinda bad when I go out to dinner b/c Boom will just eat an Amy’s organic frozen pizza. So I made it for my lunch and Boom can eat it for dinner – voila! Problem solved.

3 responses to “Lunch

  1. I am pretty excited to give the new dish a try. It looks to be quite tasty and healthy. If I don’t like it I will make sure to give the left-overs to one of the squirrels that live in the tree out back behind our house so Ting doesn’t see any incrimating evidence!!

  2. Looks quite delicious (except for the cilantro – yuck!). I am most impressed by your culinary skills, tinger!
    I actually bought some quinoa today and will be making some with our dinner of chicken and veggies.
    oxox

  3. Yes, we are big fans of the quinoa.
    I changed the comments on my blog because I got this random spam that I wanted to delete. I can change it back if it’s annoying.
    oxox

Leave a Reply

