Greening it up…

Even before the onset of my veggie phase, I have been trying to replace regular household items with less toxic, organic things. Like my dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, toilet paper (recycled), etc.

When I really started focusing on organic foods (better for you nutritionally and better for the earth), I also started thinking about our everyday “beauty” regimen. Skin is our largest organ – kinda scary/odd to think about; we brush our teeth 2x a day for 2 minutes each time (and you know some of the toothpaste must get ingested); and on and on. So I’ve started replacing our grooming products with organic items.

My newest addition to our healthier grooming:

1-tooth.jpg

I thought Boom was really not going to like it, but he has been remarkably OK with it. (Perhaps I have been wearing him down, or perhaps since it is the only toothpaste we have in the house, he is fine with using it – by default)

And some of our other items:

2-other-prods.jpg

The Burt’s Bees shampoos smell great! They don’t really suds up as much as conventional shampoos, but that is ok.

The JASON organic lotion also smells really great. I love lavender! It works quite well, too!

The Juice Beauty cleansing skin milk has been OK. I found in the beginning it kind of dried out my skin, but after it got low enough to where the pump couldn’t work, it kinda thickened up and now seems to work better than before. I think I’d like to try more of this line – I like that 95% of their ingredients are organic and really want to explore some of their other products.

The Giovanni shampoo really suds up – and uses peppermint for a great tingle on the scalp. I’ve enjoyed it thus far and really like the modern packaging. Would also like to try other products in this line.

The Weleda lotion is interesting. I LOVE that it comes in a glass container. and a bunch of beauty editors really love this line. The lotion smells pretty good – citrusy, but is a little thin / watery. I think this would be best during the summer, when a thick lotion is not needed. So I haven’t been using it too much recently.

And even Boom has gotten into it:

3-razor.jpg

Looks like Recycline also makes toothbrushes – we’ll have to give them a try!

So all this may not seem like much, but it is a start. And at least we are creating a market for these sorts of products.

3 responses to “Greening it up…

  1. Go Tinger. I am so proud of you for your green-ness. We are doing our best here – right now recycling and buying more organic or locally grown food is the best we are doing. Baby steps!
    oxox

  2. I am so green that people think I am from Vermont and went to Dartmouth. I officially stopped showering and Ruby loves me all the more for it.

  3. Here in Japan, it`s very much wasting papers especially plastic bag, everything is wraping and rewraping with paper and somekind of pretty plastic paper then wraping again…what a waste of resource……but they do have a lot of stuff are organic…..

Leave a Reply

