Finding my drishti

seclogo.gif

I finally made it to a Friday morning Led Primary Series class at my yoga studio of choice, Ashtanga Yoga Richmond. Taught by Alicia, who is really good. She didn’t even put a mat down, so I knew it would be more of a vocal led class, which is good for me (good for learning the series!).

It is all ashtanga yoga all the time! No other types of yoga, which is great for me since I only love ashtanga. (For anyone who does not know, “This method of Yoga involves synchronizing the breath with progressive series of postures—a process producing intense internal heat and a profuse, purifying sweat that detoxifies muscles and organs. The result is improved circulation, a light and strong body, and a calm mind.” – ashtanga.com)

The class goes through the entire primary series (about 75 poses), starting with 10 sun salutations, moving into standing poses, then seated poses, back bends, inversions and head stands – then reflection (sometimes I fall asleep during this part – not what is supposed to happen). There were just a few poses that I had only done a few times before, but all the rest I knew. Not saying I was good at it or even could do all the poses, but I liked this class because I was one of the worst students. And that helps me strive to get better.

I also take a Level 1 class with Robbie, even though I am beyond Level 1 – mainly b/c he is a really hard teacher. We hold the poses for a long time and so I can work on my form and breathing. Even though it is just Level 1, it is still a good class.

I was going to an Ashtanga Improv class (taught by Kyra, whom I love!) all the time but I realized there needs to be a balance between doing an Improv class (where the series is all out of order, so more interesting) and actually learning the primary series.

One of the many reasons why I love ashtanga is that it stretches me out – a full body stretch. Which is good, esp. with all the running I (used) to do. My muscles are all short and need to be elongated – I am working on it! And sometimes I can feel my IT band hurting a little bit, once I got to yoga, it is all better. or my ankle will hurt a little, and once I do yoga, it hurt no more. So it is just really good for my body. I am working on it helping my spirit…

2 responses to “Finding my drishti

  1. Yoga is a good thing. Get some good practice in now so you can go to mysore when you move to H-town!
    oxox

  2. I’m so happy that both of you are into yoga, to bad I am not as good as before….my be I’ll get back to it..

Leave a Reply

