Improvements

Since the stagers came, they had lots of mandates. We moved things around and Boom finally has a real office! (too bad he is not home to enjoy it!) We moved his desk from the downstairs hallway into the middle bedroom. And we moved the bookshelf from the guest room into the middle room – all the makings of an office.

I decided to arrange the books on the bookshelf by color (I had seen the idea on one of the design blogs I frequent, but can’t find the exact link), kinda like this person (but not nearly as intense). I think it came out well:

Does it matter than Jarod Diamond’s Guns, Germs, and Steel is next to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling? or that Sun Tzu’s The Art of War is in close proximity to Little Alters Everywhere by Rebecca Wells? I think not – just as long as it looks pretty… I hope we don’t need to find a book in the shelf in any sort of rush, since spine color is not an easy way to locate a book.

I also had a mandate to get some light colored linens for the master bed. The old Ikea standby was no longer good enough. I went to Pottery Barn and got sheets, and shams and a duvet cover – all organic! I also got a light quilt (not at PB, as they did not have organic, so I just went the cheaper route and got it at Marshalls or TJ Maxx, can’t remember which one) to complete the look. (I meant to wash all the sheets and everything before I put them on the bed, but I didn’t have any time before the photographer came. So you can still see the creases from being packaged up. Opps.)

Of course I couldn’t get anything with any color. I have color issues… at least the walls are yellow. And black and white will be so easy to reuse and add to… at least that is what I tell myself. It definitely looks ten times better than it did. (Ruby thinks it is horribly ugly, just because she knows this spells the end of her on the “big bed”.)

I do feel a little egotistical with my bridal portrait above the bed – at least it is not in our dining room, which is where people in RIC hang their bridal portraits. But the black and white of the photo went well with the new bedding ensemble. And since Boom and I worship it every evening (the angel that I am), it seemed like an apropos spot for it.

3 responses to “Improvements

  1. I love the way the bookshelf looks – very cool! And love the portrait – you look beautimus!
    oxox

  2. The place is starting to look really good. Only a few more things to get knocked out and we should be ready for the open house next week. I think I might try to change to the early flight on Friday at 10:20 to get back and have a bigger portion of the day to complete my remaining work assignments. I am keeping my fingers crossed that the weather is going to cooperate, it has been raining really hard for a while now.

  3. Pingback: New House « Tingaling

Leave a Reply

