Speedbumps don’t scare me…

(…or 5-year Darden Reunion 2008)

Early Sunday morn / late Sat night, I awoke with a headache. And also had a headache when I got up. Dunno why – I only had 1 beer and 5 (or maybe 4.5) glasses of vino on Saturday night. Ha! I am such a light weight these days – and the wine was just going down so well…

We didn’t get into C’ville until Saturday lunch time (the festivities started on Friday) as Boom “had to” golf in a tourney his new company sponsored on Friday, so he didn’t get home until around 1030pm. The weather was great Saturday during the day – sunny and not too hot. Lunch was focused towards carnivores (bbq) but it was nice to be back at Darden – I forget how beautiful it is, as is the rest of the University. But everything at Darden really looks great (for example, the parking garage cost quite a bit so that it would not be an eyesore).

Shiney, Boom, GB, & Snack under their grad year banner.

We got to see lots of folks we hadn’t seen in at least a year, some even more! Of course I mainly hung out with my friend, Sam, another wife that moved to RIC with her hubby, Snack (and classmate of Booms), at the same time that we did.

We were talking about how the reunion is an unusual experience for the wives, since we weren’t in the thick of classes, but still kinda knew some people. More odd for me since I wasn’t even living in C’ville during Boom’s Darden years.

After lunch, Boom and I tooled around “the Corner” and got all the UVa gear we thought we’d need, since we are moving away (and be the novel people that went to UVa). We then headed to check in at the Boar’s Head Inn, and have a snack since I didn’t get all that much nourishment at lunch.

Lovely Under Armor shorts and t from Darden, a hunting camo hat and another Under Armor UVa shirt (from Mincers), and a technical t from Ragged Mtn Running Shop. (Not pictured, my orange Boar’s Head hat with a boar’s head stitched on front in hunter green)

The cocktail party before dinner was nice, until it started raining, as it was mainly outside, uncovered. Got to see Boom’s good buddy, Walk, for a bit. And, of course, the class photo! (Spouses were told they were not welcome in the photo!)

Kiki, Boom & Walk

The whole class (who was there) – Boom is in the top row, center.

A little closer…

And closer yet! I have never seen the guy who’s head is between Walk’s and Booms…

On to dinner – the amuse bouche (and who doesn’t love an amuse bouche?! Recently, we’ve been eating at places that have been giving us amuse bouches.) was a chilled lobster piece with orange chutney. That was pretty tasty, but the main course was salmon and beef, on the same plate! Very unusual – and the beef was a Yankee pot roast (or brisket) according to Boom. I guess I didn’t miss much. Both Sam and I were very indignant that we were not served dessert! She is a few months preggers, so she can’t enjoy the vino, so she was really looking forward to the dessert.

We got ushered outside for fireworks, and the tables had desserts on them. Nothing too fancy – we enjoyed the chocolate dipped macaroons. They also had petite fours and some truffles. The fireworks seemed rather close – I think they were being set off from the parking lot. I am not a huge fireworks fan – they all seem to look the same. So I don’t go out of my way to see ’em, nor do I get very excited for them. They were fine. Lots of OWWWWWWWs and AHHHHHHHs from the crowd.

Woo – fireworks. Self-portrait of Sam & I.

The rest of the night we were just hanging out with everyone – watching the old peeps tear up the dance floor! So fun! The bank kept playing Mustang Sally – literally they must have played it at least 4 times throughout the night.

GB, Moi, Boom, Mags (Walk’s wife) & Walk

By the end of the night, after my 1 beer and 5 glasses of vino, I was quite tired. So we didn’t shut the place down, but we stayed out to a respectable time (midnight). And Snack and I even devised an elaborate plan to steal Walk’s iPhone! It involved Snack causing a scene, me coming to help and running into Walk and thus getting the opp to take his iPhone. Fortunately, Walk had already left to go home.

I drove back to the hotel, and there is remarkably low street lighting from Darden to the Inn. Once on Inn grounds, I sped through the speed bumps, since they really didn’t scare me and I knew I could take ’em. Boom claims I did a poor parking job, but at least I was between the lines, albeit a smidge close to the car next to me.

Sunday, even with all the house prep we needed to do, I was kinda worthless. Watched Boom do a lot of chores, and in the end helped weed out things to give away as well as print labels from my label maker (whew! talk about taxing!) to go onto the many bins we have.

Overall, a great weekend, but I kinda wished we were able to just veg out at home. I suspect vegging out is not gonna be an option until we are settled in H- town… sigh… tired with just the thought of everything I need to do!

2 responses to “Speedbumps don’t scare me…

  1. Sounds like you had a great weekend!
    oxox

  2. It was great to see all of the folks that did make it back and I am glad that we went over for the festivities. I am sorry that we missed out on Friday and did not get to see Dave and Julia. There was a touch and go moment in the parking lot of the Boar’s Head when I thought that the facility security in the golf cars were going to aprehend and arrest Tingaling. She was driving through the lot like a duck with her a** on fire and catching air over each of the speed bumps as she laughed maniacally. Needless to say I am sure we will get a letter of reprimand via mail that will impact our lodging status in the future. I was actually surprised that they let Tingaling purchase her orange hat the next day with their crest emblazoned on the front. I was sure that they were going to tell her that she was not Boar’s Head material and was unfit to bear their standard. Alas they are economically minded and had no problem taking her $29 dollars, which by the way is highway robery!

Leave a Reply

