New House

Here are a few photos of the house we have under contract in H-town:

(Disclaimer – Homes are large and grand in Texas! So this is way more space than we need right now, and definitely grander than we ever imagined, but we think it will work out just fine…)

Here is the front of the house. I love the Spanish tile roof! I think we will grow some ivy on the garage wall with the 3 square windows, at least I think Boom would like to do so…

Here is the front entry way and staircase. Ruby is not pleased with the spiral staircase. She is afraid she won’t have enough energy to get up ’em, or pick up too much speed and hurt herself going down! I foresee us having to carry her up and down the stairs.

Formal sitting room into dining room. We literally don’t have enough to furnish even one-tenth of this house.

Boom’s man room (aka study) with built-ins on both sides. It also has French glass doors – which I like so I can spy on him when he is in there.

Looking at the kitchen from the eating area – 6 burners, 3 ovens, I dunno if I will ever use all of the appliances. At least I am ready to cook for an army, literally. Too bad I am not much of a cook. Maybe this will spur me on…

Living room with gas fireplace and lots of built-ins. Boom already knows what large TV he wants to go above the fireplace.

UPSTAIRS:

This is at the top of the stairs. We are going to have the builder put white built-ins along the wall with no windows, and we’ll use this as our upstairs family room.

This mudroom could possibly be one of my favorite things about this house (besides the master closet). On the 2nd floor and look at all that storage!

Here is the master bedroom with a sitting area. I think the one sofa we currently have is scaled for this sitting area. We are going to get a king size bed! That will be glorious as I will be able to be right in the middle and Boom will still have lots of space.

This is the master bath. The shower has 2 heads, so that should be fun.

And last but certainly not least – the master closet! We both have a door to the closet – it is shaped like a U so we will be able to see each other in the mornings! I love that. And love all the space (the top rack is for out of season clothes, and the black things help to bring the rack closer to you when you need something off of it).

[Update: If you want to see even more photos of the house, check them out here. Not that you weren’t already bored out of your gourd!]

There is so much space I kinda don’t even know where to begin, once we are down there. We’ll put our current queen bed in one of the other bedrooms and sleep there until we can get organized in the master bedroom, with a rug and king bed.

Well, it seems that we are all grown up. Scary. Very scary. Maybe we’ll put my bridal portrait in the dining room, like is the custom in RIC and evidently Dallas as well. We’re gonna need things to go on the very large walls, that is for sure.

9 responses to “New House

  1. Holy moley! That house is gorgeous! You’ll have plenty of space for a craft room. So excited for you!

  2. HOLY CRAP!!! You are moving into a mansion.

    BTW – It’s a no-go on the bridal portrait in the dining room….

  3. Also – I love the hardwood throughout and the kitchen.

    Remember how we used to toast ourselves in front of the gas fireplace at 2201 and John would want to kill us?? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This house is awesome! This is why I miss home, do not think it is possible to have a 1/10th of this home in CA. I really agree with the green wall at the front of the house. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Love the house! Ivy is a good move. You have to give me the full tour some day. I am proud of you guys. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Beautiful! Can’t wait!
    oxox

  7. OMG – you are definitely a real grown-up now, no one can argue with that!! Can’t wait to see it in person, it is beautiful!!!!

  8. HOLY Crap (I know it’s already been said, but really). HUGE! I can’t wait to visit! Wowsers.

  9. You’ll have to get Allison to teach you some recipes so you can utilize your kitchen!

Leave a Reply

