Almost time to Go

Saturday night our friends threw us a going away party at my friend Stevie’s incredible house up on Church Hill. Everyone loved her place (since it is beautiful and huge! perfect for her and her fiancee – since they love to entertain) – very impressed with the 4 (four!) floors! And the view from the top is awesome – seeing lovely RIC in all of her grandeur!

Stevie and I – Isn’t she so cute?! Too bad I’m smiling so hard and creating a double chin for myself. I need to remember not to do that!

It was really great for me, ’cause it was a great gathering of my friends from many different aspects of my life in Richmond (Supper Club, Junior League, Seals, Wine club, Boom’s old employer, SCAN, ART180, etc). I overheard one of my friends say “This is the first party I’ve been to where I recognize a lot of people, but don’t know how I know them all” – hehehe, my random collect of friends. My cousin asked Boom is a bewildered voice “How do you know all these people?” And Boom was like “I know about 3 of them”. Harhar – we’ve lived in RIC for five years, so surely there would be a lot of peeps at the party.

Boom and I with my cousin Thom and Suz, who came down from DC for the party! Suz looks so cute – she cute her hair and I love it! They actually just got back from Hawaii earlier in the week – fun times!

Me with 2 of the other hosts – Jojo and KB (I need to remember to stand up straight or suck in my belly – something to hid the buddha!). KB was hilarious – she had a scrapbook for people to put a photo in (the request was on the invite to bring a pic) and sign – so she was very diligent in her task of making sure everyone was putting their pic in and signing the book! I can’t wait to get it – it will be awesome! She also took photos of people who did not bring one – too funny! And Jojo was helping to keep her hydrated during this daunting task – I like the team work!

I did get sad, though, especially with these two. Since we basically moved here at the same time and started up our lives in Richmond together. And we’ve been through a lot – some big things, 4 kids (they have 2 each), and lots of small things, like powering through work functions, Easters spent together, sewing, supper club, etc. Jojo did bring up that I didn’t much like her when I first met her. Which was true, but that is just my snap judgment rearing its ugly head! and it was very short lived, we became fast friends! (It is so funny for me to think of myself 5 years ago – I have definitely mellowed out and have figured out more of who I am. It is nice.)

Seals peeps representing! Scott, Warren (one of the hosts), Gretty (another host), Moi, HB (Gretty’s bro), Cubby and Rich. Some are more consistent than other, but that is ok…

Some Junior League friends: Poindexter, Moi, SS; Rikki, SS & Moi!

Boom with the old work crew (or Stevie and her boys!)

Most of Supper Club: LH & Jelly – both preggers, Jojo, Moi and LB.

Some of the peeps: Trisha, Lizard, Cubby, Moi and Court [I definitely was turning pink from all my Tanqueray and tonics ;-)]

A rare moment of levity! MB, Boom and Jems. Arms and legs are all over the place!

With all the lady hosts: KB, Gretty, Stevie and Jojo. Love them all! So nice of them to come together (well, KB and Jojo are good friends) and throw the party for Boom and I.

It was an excellent time for Boom and I (since we did know all the people at the party) and I was so happy to see everyone before we go. A great time was had by all!

I really hope that I can make good friends like these is H-town. Boom says he is not worried, and I am not exactly worried, but just a little apprehensive. The unknown, I guess, is always a little scary.

2 responses to “Almost time to Go

  1. Looks like a fab party! I am sure you will have just as many friends here in H-town once you get settled – you are always the social butterfly!
    oxox

  2. Was a great party and we really appreciated the hosts efforts in pulling it together. It was awesome to see so many of our friends together before we pull out of town. Everytime I looked over at Tingaling she had an ear to ear smile on. Seeing that always makes me smile as well.

Leave a Reply

