The most expensive kitchen table ever

Well, not the most expensive, but pretty close, I have to think. And it is in my house (ha!) – but not for long… an 18th century walnut table from a church – so beautiful (but really too long for my space and much, much too much!).

I must have gone a little crazy / delirious – but I attribute it to not knowing what I am doing at all. And to a designer with very high end taste. Impeccable taste, really, but much too varsity for us right now at this stage in our lives.

So it is going back to her – also the bench (she just had them sent over to see if they fit the space). I really love the bench, but I think that it would be better in a long hallway – not behind a table. Not practical at all, especially if we have little munchkins in the near future. Also a French antique, so definitely not cheap.

All this decorating business has got me wound up. I woke up today at 2am and couldn’t go back to sleep. I realized that we had to return the bench (the table was never really an option) as well, ’cause – like in poker – it upped the ante for all the other furniture that will ever been in the room. And I was hoping to get most of the kitchen completed for what the bench alone costs. And I never wanted a house full of one-of-a-kind 18th century pieces.

Not sure my current designer is the right person for me right now. She is great – has a great aesthetic, but 1) that makes it very cost prohibitive and 2) most things are not all that practical. Sigh. Should be fun having this conversation today.

Update: When I called the designer to tell her that I sent the bench back as well, she got it.  and understood that we were not on the same page.  So, I wasn’t able to tell her in person like I wanted to, but at least it was relatively not too painful.  But I still kinda feel bad.  So I wrote her a little note and mailed it to her with her tape measure (that she had left at my house) and all fabric swatches we got out yesterday.  Wow, only in H-town less than a month and already making enemies – I guess that is how I roll.

3 responses to “The most expensive kitchen table ever

  1. It is beautiful – but I can’t imagine how pricey, and it would definitely set the tone for everything else, like you said. You are right, maybe you do need to have that convo with your designer…….good luck! xoxo

  2. It is beautiful but I agree that it’s probably not the most practical. Good luck with that conversation!

  3. You are not making enemies – you are doing what is right for you and Boom! Remember you can’t please everyone all the time and that your first priority is for yourself!
    oxox

Leave a Reply

