San Diego, cont.

Check out our first night activities here.

The next day, we went to La Jolla to check it out.

Dolphins frolicking in the ocean!

It was really quite beautiful! and the weather was unbelievable!

Boom got into town and we went to the Hotel del Coronado (or “the Del” as it is known), out on Coronado island.

Very glamorous! We then headed to an early bird dinner, as we thought Kandy A’s flight was getting in around 9pm. But there was some miscommunication and that was actually when the 2nd leg of her flight was leaving! So eventually Kandy A and Gretty got into SD – yay!

The next morning, for the 2nd morning in a row for Cubs and I, we went to the Mission for bfast. So delish! Everyone was starved, so it really hit the spot!

This is where we overheard other marathoners talking about wanting to go to the Olive Garden for dinner that night, but how the OG doesn’t take reservations… too funny! Gretty and Kandy A had the best tofu ever as part of their meal!

Then onto the race expo…

Here are the excited runners!

Since I didn’t have time to make my own sign, I at least was able to find the place where I could write on a sign. This side is for Boom, the other side (pink) was for Kandy A.

Then we met up with Gretty’s excellent friend, Kurt, who is a Navy SEAL! We headed back to The Del to let the others experience it and have some more lovely drinks.

Kurt was the instigator of getting fruity drinks… Twist our arms!

He was also kind enough to pay for all the drinks with a gift card that had been re-gifted to him. Niiiiiiice!

Cubs and Gretty stayed out that night with Kurt and his SEAL buddies – and hung as VIPs in a bar with bottle service! Those gals know how to live it up!

The next morning, I think they were hurting just a little bit. But they were good sports and got up early with me to go see Kandy A and Boom at the half way point.

Here we are on the trolly to get to the half way point. The trolly system there was very odd – buying tickets seemed to be optional, as there was no system that ensured that only people with tickets boarded the trolly.

Kandy A at the half way point – she zoomed by us really early on! (I guess that is what happens when you run a 3:25 marathon).

After that, we were waiting, and waiting, and waiting for Boom! So many green shirts – but no Boom. I was really getting worried, and rightly so.

When he gets to us, he can’t breath and really needs his puffer for his ashtma. Poor guy, ran 4 miles barely being able to breath!

After seeing him, Cubs and I dropped Gretty off at the 24 mile mark so she could run the last couple miles with Boom. We also go to see Kandy A at this point.

She definitely seemed less chipper, but who wouldn’t be?

Then Cubs and I proceeded to walk the rest of the marathon so that we could get to the finish area. This is slightly painful, as we were in jeans and flip flops and it had really warmed up. But what was worse was when we would pass folks on the course. I know how they feel and it just stinks!!!

We got to the finish area (Marine Corps recruiting depot – much nicer than we had expected!) and it was PACKED! Throngs of people. We finally wedged our way onto a fence that lined the course – and also met up with Kandy A. Kandy A and Cubs headed back to the hotel (as we needed to be checked out by noon – highly annoying), and I waited to see Boom and Gretty…

When I saw them pass me, I then made my way back to the actual finish line area. It was so crazy! So many people everywhere! I thought there would be no way in a million years that I would be able to find them. I saw them in the runners coral and I screamed and yelled to get their attention. Nada. So I then ran to where I thought they might come out, and they did. Thankfully, otherwise there would have been no way to find them!

I think that is a smile of relief, to be done! Good job, Boom! We took the trolly back and actually beat Kandy A and Cubs to the hotel room!

A post-race victory photo!

After checking out of the hotel, we headed to a beachy place called South Beach for lunch. Kurt met us there later… It was crowded and reminded us a lot of Sidewalk Cafe in Richmond.

We ate our fill, drank a little, Kandy A got picked up by her friend to spend the rest of the day together, and Boom and I needed to head to the airport. Kurt led us in a sneaky little shortcut, and Cubs and Gretty returned the rental car early (for a rebate of $100! Woot woot!).

When Boom and I landed in H-town, he said to me, “The gals haven’t even gotten on their redeye back home.” Crazy. It was a great trip with great friends. I hope we can do it again soon! I know some of the ladies are gonna sign up for the Houston marathon, which Boom is planning on doing. I may do the half or just be the cheerleader again!

3 responses to “San Diego, cont.

  1. The luck pf the Irish was not with Boom on this day. Despite the bright green shirt. I though for sure the green shirt would certainly make up for the lack of training. I was however, sadly mistaken.

  2. Looks like a great trip! San Diego is so beautiful!
    I encourage you both to sign up for Houston ASAP as it is known to sell out. Tinger – do the half with me 🙂
    ox

  3. I can’t believe we took a weekend trip to San Diego.

    you didn’t mention the SIZE of the numbers. the biggest race bibs in the history of the marathon–I’m quite sure.

Leave a Reply

