History in the Making

Court’s visit was awesome! We had such a good time! Friday she had some appointments in the morning and at lunch, then I drove her around this area of Houston (too bad my knowledge of the Houston area is sparce), and then it was time for dinner and the game.

We went to El Tiempo for dindin – a Houston classic / staple for Tex-Mex. And we ate our faces off! Margaritas, guac, queso, chip and salsa to start. I was stuffed before the main course even came. I had fish tacos, which are delish! Boom and Cour both got the mixed fajitas…

There was so much food – even looking at the snaps now make me feel slightly queasy. Ugh – we ate A LOT!

Then off to the ballgame – this was the first time EVER that Boston has played at Houston! A little bit of baseball trivia supplied by Boom. I guess they are in different conferences – in Houston, the pitcher has to bat, and in Boston, they do not (they have a designated hitter). And, it was the FIRST TIME EVER that I have sat and watched 9 innings of baseball (2 nights in a row)!

This was (clearly) the first time I had been to Minute Maid park. It is right downtown – we parked at Boom’s work parking and walked maybe 6 – 8 blocks to the “stadium” (which was great, as I need a little activity after the large dinner we had just consumed). We learned that it used to be the old train station, which explained why it looked like a train station:

The “stadium” from the outside.

and the lobby area before getting into the “stadium” area (this really looks like it was part of a train station, which it was)

Fun times! We had great seats on Friday – right (I mean literally directly behind the catcher) behind home plate. We were in the section just beyond where the Astro’s owner and wives were sitting. (you can see one of the little punks that was sitting behind us – there were 3 of them basically heckling us and all the Red Sox players. I wanted to turn and punch them in the face, but I restrained myself. They were so annoying! So glad the Sox won the game Friday night!)

This was our view! and I got lots of cool close up snaps of Red Sox players…

J.D. Drew Dustin Pedroia (thanks, Boom, for the correction)

Manny (Boom was all screaming, You’re the Manny!)

Cap’n J. Varitek (he was also my friend Jojo’s prom date down in Florida! Love that piece of trivia!)

Finally, I got what I really came to the game for:

Too bad I was still really full and couldn’t enjoy it fully. And, as a side note, candied apples are not offered as a delicious snack at Minute Maid Park. Highly disappointed.

The Astros have a player with the tiniest calves ever! So small they kinda make be feel sick when I look at them:

Actually, I can’t look at him or his calves. Good ole Hunter Pence…

And the actual “stadium” was very nice, but kinda odd. Since it is late June, the roof (which can open and close) was closed, and the AC was pumping – I mean, enough so that we felt a “breeze” and both Court and I were cold. COLD, in Houston, in late June at a baseball game. Very odd. And I kept thinking it was so weird that they were playing baseball “indoors”. I totally understand why it has to be able to be covered and air conditioned, but Friday night was actually a very pleasant night and would have been awesome to have the roof open.

After the game, we were all beat (and stuffed to the gills) so we called it a night and headed home.

Saturday, we got up a little bit later than planned (but we all needed the shut eye!) and went running in Memorial Park, the Central Park of Houston. After that, we had breakfast at the Buffalo Grille (pancakes as big as a steering wheel!). Court and I napped (the heat totally makes me tired) and did a little shop shop (Banana and Gap are having some fierce sales!) and then tried to go to the iMax Grand Canyon – but the showing we wanted to go see only had 1 ticket left. I keep forgetting that Houston is a HUGE city – so I need to plan better.

The game Saturday night started a bit earlier and we were sitting at the Club level (people take your orders and bring food & drink to you in your seats!) so we decided to forgo dinner and just snack at the ballpark. We were definitely sitting around better people Sat night – no little twerps heckling us! Boom made friends with the Astros fans sitting next to him – they were a jolly group! And the guy behind me was all, I like your French designer bag. And I was like, You must be dating a gal with good taste! Hehehe!

Here we are – so cute! And yes, both Court and I remembered to bring a little jacket to wear, just in case. Court didn’t need her since she was in pants, but I got cold. I am wearing my new cargo skirt I got at the Gap! (Many moons ago – in college – I had a very similar skirt, but from Abercrombie – I should have kept it! Little did I know it would be coming back into style…)

After the game, which the Sox lost (boo), we headed to the new swank restaurant, The Grove, and went to the rooftop bar – The Treehouse. It was a great night – breezy and not too hot or humid at all! We had a few drinks there and then headed over to Hotel ZaZa. Which is, evidently, a very fancy pants place. Due to the flipflops on Boom’s feet, we were not allowed in, as they do not allow men in sandals in their establishment. So note – if you ever want to go to Hotel ZaZa, be sure no men in your group are in sandals! By this point, it was past midnight, so I think we were all secretly glad that we were going home, since we were all tired. And Court’s flite the next morning was pretty early.

All and all, it was a great weekend spent with great peeps! We loved having our first official out of town guest, and she’ll just have to come on back down once the house is in better order. And we’ll be back up in the RIC in Sept, so it will be great to see folks then.

4 responses to “History in the Making

  1. You have a hotel zaza too? There is one in uptown (dallas), and it’s very fun but fancy-shmancy. I thought it was a little boutique hotel but apparently it is a chain, huh? I’m not surprised they had a no flip-flop rule. Sounds like y’all had a fun weekend!! xoxo

  2. All looks perfect with the post except that it is Dustin Pedroia in picture one not JD Drew. Great time had by all. Even the little clowns sitting behind us.

  3. Looks like a great weekend!
    ox
    p.s. thanks for hosting craft Monday again 🙂

  4. Pingback: Obsessed « Tingaling

Leave a Reply

