Look!

I found a lovely little tut on how to make fabric “boxes” and whipped up a couple this afternoon:

They were pretty easy and turned out quite cute, I think! I did make one modification – I used bias tape around the top opening instead of folding down the fabric and sewing the felt and fabric together. My “boxes” were not square, and because of the construction, kinda round in the body. But I really like them and they didn’t take too long at all!

I am only showing the good side 😉 I think I made the inside felt a little too small, so I had excess outer fabric, which caused a little pleat on the bad side. (and you can see little RuRu’s white toes in the first photo – so cute!) Next time I will be sure to make the innards a little bit larger – I may also make my own bias tape (I have a bias tape maker contraption that I need to put to good use!) to use. We’ll see.

I think this would be cute as the container of a baby gift – could fill it up with bibs and burpies and onesies (and there are tons of tuts out there around making bibs and burpies and adding appliques to onesies, so a homemade theme would not be too difficult).

Not sure what I am gonna put in these puppies and I wonder if I can get thicker felt (mine was the cheapie faux felt, not even made from wool – so it definitely could not get any thinner). If so, I bet I could make bigger ones. So many options!

(Thanks again to Becoming Helly for the tut!)

5 responses to “Look!

  1. ohh… nice! I never even thought to put bias binding on it!! I likey, I likey…. In fact, I have one of those little bias-thingys as well, and I’ve never used it – yet. I think I’ll have to have a go today as well!

    And great idea about giving them away filled up with stuff! *plot plot* This is what I love about sharing ideas – people build on them, and make them better and different – it’s so much fun!!

  2. Those are super cute! I want one! {Don’t know what I’ll do with it yet, but I think they would look cute in my closet storing stuff!)
    oxox

  3. Those look great! Love the color combination..and the doggy toes! 🙂

  4. Love it – it looks like a watermelon with the green outside and pink inside! 🙂

    I’m not sure what bias tape or the contraption is, but it sounds difficult….I am tres impressed!

    xoxo

  5. Pingback: Another Bucket! « Tingaling

Leave a Reply

