I can’t believe it’s been 7 years

Very sad day in our recent history, and I was amazed to hear that it had been 7 years since the attacks on the  World Trade Center.

I was in Canada, at SAP training for my consulting gig.  I realized, after the attacks, that although Canada may be attached to America and Canadians looks similar to many Americans, it is not America.  When the footage was being show and everyone in class was watching, they all looked at me, and not with a ton of sympathy.  I guess the newness of it all could attribute to their attitude, and not knowing how many lives would be lost, but I found them to be very “you guys” in terms of Americans.  I really had never felt so alone in my life.  Not only was I far from home and Boom and family and friends, I was in a foreign land.  Lucky for me, I was able to drive home (through the night to miss the long border control traffic jams, which I did) and got home much quicker than many Americans abroad.

I guess I never realized what a bond it is to just merely be an American.  Well, that is not true, but certainly I had never felt it so strongly as I did on 9/11/01.  {When I travel to Asia, and look more like the people in the Far East, my American-ness comes through, because, though I may not be blonde and blue eyed, I have much more in common with other Americans than someone born in China or Taiwan.}

Anyway, just wanted to take some time to pause and reflect.  I am grateful that I didn’t loose a loved one on that day, and I want to cry for those people who did.

One response to “I can’t believe it’s been 7 years

Leave a Reply

