Weekend Recap

steviesymbol

Last weekend we were back in ole Virginny celebrating my great friend Stevie’s wedding weekend! Yours truly designed her symbol and wedding invitation, which both turned out great (if I do say so myself!). Most importantly, she loved the symbol and invitations!

Friday, after Seals in the morning, the luncheon was at the Hard Shell. Mary was the hostess with the most-est that morning – everything looked beautiful and the food was delish! Stevie looked so beautiful – very calm and together, which I loved seeing! And it was great to meet a bunch of her BFFs that I had just heard about. Lots of aunts and grannies were there as well. (click photo for larger image)

1x4photosst1

Later that night was the rehearsal dinner at the 2300 Club up in Church Hill and then the post rehearsal dinner party at Stevie and Ty’s place (which was just a few blocks away) – complete with kareoke! Boom wasn’t able to fly in until late Friday night, so I was without my pair for all the festivities. Not fun, but helped me to appreciate having him around that much more!

Lots of toasts were made at dinner – and, like at Kandy A’s rehearsal dinner, I wish I had prepared a little something to say about the Guv’nor (aka Stevie), who has that nickname b/c she knows everyone in Richmond! Anyway, she is one of the most charismatic, big hearted, fun, friendly, open person I know! She totally rocks. Lots of fun – people were getting into the kareoke! Pregnant ladies were dancing all about! Husbands of she-priestess were singing duets! Just what I would have expected at Stevie and Ty’s rehearsal dinner! A great time was had by all…

rehearsal

Boom got in just fine on Friday night – boy was it nice to see him! He had been out of town since Tuesday, so hadn’t had much together time. Saturday morning was the Richmond Marathon. We went to watch some of it with Gretty and Cubs. Where we were standing at Mile 4 was quite interesting as there was a Christian rock band playing loud music right behind us. Some of the lyrics were a bit graphic and kinda odd – Cubs agreed, and she is a church go-er, so it is not just my heathen ways.

Anyway, I saw my friend Elizabeth, a juggling runner, and lots of Seal peeps, namely Chuckles and Kandy A! Incidentally, Kandy A had been on the course at 3am (!!!) putting up signage. And then she was a pacer for 4:15, but by the time we saw her at mile 18, she had none of her pacees around her! Oh well, she was still on course, so that is all that can be done.

marathon

Saturday night was the wedding and reception! Fun times! Stevie had her mom’s wedding dress remade into her dress – and it was so lovely! She looked absolutely beautiful! I sneaked down to where the bridal party was getting ready – and was so glad that I did! My job as a greeter was perfect – I loved getting to see everyone! (Tho one of our friends was all, I didn’t know you’d be back in town! And I was kinda surprised since Stevie and I are good friends, but oh well.)

Stevie and her priestess are really close, so the homily was so great! It was all about how Stevie and Ty met on MATCH!!! There was a full Episcopalian Mass, which is kinda neat. Boom went and got communion, I went up there, but just got blessed. I like all the traditions and rituals that go along with organized religions like Catholicism and the Episcopal church, but I digress.

The reception was in a big old house in Ginter Park that had been converted into a rec center of sorts. It was cool b/c there were 2 stories and the top was just totally open – the bottom had a few really big rooms, and it was just quite neat.

recept1

I am proud to say I got the party started with the “photo room” – I love pics of any and all types! So of course I forced Poindexter to take some snaps with me, then we rounded people up, and everyone was getting into it! Fun times!

recept2

Their cake was the tres leches cake from KubaKuba – so yummy! There was a little snafu – the caterer kinda ran out of food! This was a fellow St. James’er that Stevie used, and it was her first wedding! Luckily Stevie and Ty aren’t the types to totally freak out – they solved the issue by ordering 20 pizzas! and man, those pizzas were yummy!

Stevie and her crew did a great job decorating – and their love symbol (as they like to refer to it) took center stage, so to speak! She and her mom even cut a large stencil of the symbol and painted it onto a flag! Loved that idea – so Martha! Everyone had a great time – and I loved seeing Stevie so so happy! She was just radiant!

recept3

As all good things have to come to an end, our trip to the RIC had to end at some point. On Sunday, we went over to Sam and Josh’s new house (so cute!) and got to hang out with Kathy and Mike and Jojo and Jems. Was really great to see them all – just wish I had had more time to see them during the weekend!

img_2020

And, I don’t know when we’ll be back up! So that is just so sad. (On a bright note, Warren is coming down the weekend of Houston Marathon and will be running the 5k, as will I. So we do have a Ric guest to look forward to!). I am sure I will make it up there again, just not sure when. I do miss all of our friends, but I guess that is just part of moving away. Making new friends just takes time, and we have been doing a good job of it. So things are pretty good – can’t complain!

2 responses to “Weekend Recap

  1. Finally updated! Looks like you had a fabulous time! What dress are you wearing? It’s super cute! Also, I love that photo room idea…when can we use it?
    Also, maybe we can do a photo shoot on Sunday with you and Boom and Ruby?
    ox
    p.s. go to TaraWhitney.com for ideas…

  2. I’m so sorry I missed you. jams wouldn’t let me drive. the 3am business was not very smart. I hope Can Can didn’t disappoint.

Leave a Reply

