All the things I’ve been up to

So the big news last week was that it snowed!  And for a few hours – of course nothing really stuck…  So here is the proof:
img_2103

Can you see the flakes in the light?  LB and I grabbed a quick drink before the Opera (whole company) holiday party – which was a great idea!  I won 2 tickets to the Alley Theater, which I am very excited about!  There was karaoke and the highlight of the night had to be Britney Spears, as done by our Technical Director:

img_2110HILARIOUS!  He and his crew were having a ball with the karaoke!  I bet it is fun to work with them!!

Thursday night is my JLH volunteer night at HAWC.  We play with the kiddies while the moms are in counseling.  A great cause, but I was exhausted and just not feeling it AT ALL.  and there were a ton of kids that were all super hyped up!

Friday night we went to the University of St. Thomas (I had never been there before, and it is actually very beautiful – not exactly what I expected, but very nice) to see the HGO Studio Artists perform.  They performed songs and portions of many different operas.  I realized that I much prefer opera in a foreign language, rather than in English.  S and R came with Boom and I – I hope they liked the performance!  It was a bit long, Boom was getting all antsy, I could tell.  And then we all headed to t’afia (yum!) for dindin!  I had wanted to go back ever since I went there for the first time on Tuesday!

Saturday Boom and I drove up to Dallas with Ruru for the White Rock Marathon on Sunday.  We were about 1.5 hours outside of Dallas when I realized I had forgotten my sneaks!  UGH.  So I called Yarbs to see if she could pick them up before she flew up – well, lo and behold, she and Joe decided to bail on coming to Dallas!  Boom was all, Of the 2 people I expected to bail, Yarbs and Joe were not them! So we went to the expo and I bought a new pair of running shoes…

Anyway, got to see Al and Park…

img_21301

and JJ and Sydney Bristow!!  This was my first time meeting her – she is soooo cute!

img_2134

We then finally headed home to see Marm and Dad.  They are just the bestest ever!  Marm cooked some good grub for us and I just liked hanging out with them.

Sunday morning, when the alarm went off at 5am, Boom and I debated for nearly an hour whether or not we should run – I was all, Sure – I’ll do the half.  And he was all, Well, if I am running, I am going to do the full.  And he hasn’t really been training, so we decided (finally!) to bag the race all together.  And he’s been super busy, poor guy.  Thurs he flew up to Dallas, Friday he flew back to H-town, Sat he drove up to Dallas, and Sunday the drove back to H-town!!!

Just too bad I bought new running shoes – but I will definitely be able to use them, once I start running again!  It’s been a lazy (in terms of exercising) few days.

When we got back on Sunday, I started baking some goodies for work peeps.  Then it was off to Bunko for me – we had a gift exchange (good white elephant gifts) and check out what I got:

img_2139img_2138Ceramic birdie nesting measuring cups!!! They are SOOO cute!  The perfect white elephant gift!!  And the gals that hosted, one of them had a TEXAS themed Christmas tree!  I am totally copying her and doing that next year!  It was extremely cute and I loved it a lot a lot!!!  Evidently, each year, Dillards comes out with a different Texas themed ornament that she buys in bulk the day after Christmas.  Well, since we are hear this year, I know where I’ll be on Dec. 26!!!  There is a huge, free standing one near the Galleria that I will go to.

So tonight, Monday, was the UVa Alumni Club holiday party.  At a fabu house in River Oaks – it was huge!  and lovey – with great furniture and kitchen appliances!  It was a good time – but I am feeling a bit under the weather.  The temperature change today alone was about 20 degrees in just a matter of hours!  So it was 80 on Tues, then snowing on Wed, then warm again over the weekend, and today it started out around 60 degrees +, but fell to 40 by mid day!  No wonder I am getting sick – my body is so confused!

Tomorrow night is my departments Holiday party – fun times.  At least it is close to home.  I hope I don’t feel worse…

3 responses to “All the things I’ve been up to

  1. Looks like you have been a busy little bee. When Mom and Dad are in town we should have a few days where we just do nothing – maybe rent some movies or something. Just to take a break.
    I also have a fun idea for photo shoot – I bought us all similar socks and I’d like us to line up and take a photo of our feet. I looked for Christmas socks, but I couldn’t find any for the boys!
    Take care of yourself!
    ox

  2. You have certainly been up to a lot tingaling and it appears that you will keep this feverish pace through the holidays despite your worsening cold. Get home early this eve and get to bed.

  3. you do’nt have to go to all the partys, please slow down, catching cold is very bad to your body, ruin your immu-system…do as John said go to bed ..

Leave a Reply

