3rd Place… and a bandit!

This weekend, my friend W came into town with his girlfriend, S.  W and I are friends from Seal Team in the RIC.  Saturday night, we took them to our favorite TexMex restaurant – El Tiempo.  It was crowded, but we were fine waiting at the bar with a beer!

img_2201When they left Richmond, it was around 3 degrees!  Ugh!  I didn’t know S really at all, so it was nice to get to know her a bit.  They are a cute couple!  She was taller than I remembered, and they were more lovey-dovey than I remembered, but I hadn’t really seen them together much before this.

img_2202Boom and I!  I like the shirt he is wearing (plaid on the bias!) – I bought it for him a few years ago, but he never really liked it, as it didn’t fit quite right (it was too tight) since he was all “puff up” (as Mumsie refers to Booms pudgier days).  But now since he is a thinny minnie, it fits and looks great!

We got home from dinner around 10pm, which was 11pm for W and S, and with the big 5K race the next day, we all called it a night.  It was a long week for me, so I was quite tired.

ep5k

img_2204

Here we are, in the garage around 545am.  All wearing our Seal Team shirts!  Notice my number is not as ridiculously large, as I have folded it into an “elite” athlete’s number.

I ran the 5K in 24:50 – not too bad for a gal who is not really in very good shape!  I was pleased with my time.  And the first mile was pretty slow, since there were so many people!  Evidently, my age group is a slow, weak group as I came in third in it!!!  The first place woman in my age group came in at 23:45 – so if only I had pushed it about 25 seconds faster each mile, I could have won the very competitive 30-34 female age group.

S came in at 25:50, and 5th in her age group.  W came in at 23:56, and 13th in his age group.  Boom, who had registered for the marathon but ran the 5k since he hadn’t trained much really, came in before W, but how much, no one can say.  Would be the word of a bandit we’d be taking, and we all know that is a slippery slope!

After the race, we got coffee and kolaches!  I had way too many of them a month or two ago, but I was ready to try again, for the team.  S and W really liked the kolaches – and so did I.  They are really cute and round and have a good proportion of filling to bun.  The half way point of the marathon is just a few steps from our house, so we were able to go and watch and cheer for some of the runners.

img_2208Here we are, proudly wearing our 5K medals!  It was cold this week, but Sunday was really nice.  Cool, but sunny and clear.  Maybe a bit too warm for the marathon runners, but just fine for us and half marathoners.

img_2213After taking S & W to our favorite breakfast / brunch spot – The Buffalo Grille – we headed over to the Montrose Berryhill to hang out and enjoy the nice weather outside.  We did this a couple years ago when Yarbs and Josephine and I all ran the full marathon.  Yarbs and Josephine and their gays met us there – it was fun!  I guess the jello shots probably helped…

img_2211

img_2212

This year, Yarbs ran the half marathon in 1:59:59, so she made it under her goal of 2 hours!  Josephine ran the full marathon and finished in 3:37:33.  He qualified for Boston last year (at Dallas) and will be running that in April!

And here are two of my favorite people in the whole, wide world…

img_2210

eeting_bh1and I just found out today that Josephine will be out of town next weekend, so it will be a Craft Weekend for Yarb and me!  Fun times!

A good, fun weekend, but I am now beat!  (and, not to mention I am a FOOTBALL SAVANT, but more on that later…)

2 responses to “3rd Place… and a bandit!

  1. Congrats on the 3rd place medal!! The only time I ever ran a 5k was in college, when I was in really good shape, and I got 3rd place for my age group – I still have the trophy. Then I “retired.” Ha! No way I could still do it now though – that is awesome!

    El Tiempo and Buffalo Grille – aren’t those the 2 places we went when we visited? I just have three words for you – yum yum yum!!!

  2. Boom’s official 5K time was 19:55. I assume that I won my age group as I actually won the overall race. I ran this 8 year old girl off the course around mile 2 and then back-peddled the last mile in so that I could give her an extended taunting. The crowd was going wild when I finished. They picked me up on their shoulders and swept me into the winners circle area where i received a huge wreath that said “WINNER” and got my picture traken with a bunch of local celebrities. Was a good day, but Ting and her friends unfortunately missed it as they were still out turtling their way around the course.

Leave a Reply

