Movies

Boom and I don’t watch many movies, much to Boom’s chagrin.  But sometimes, when we have a lowkey night / weekend, we will watch a couple.  That is what we did this weekend:

taken-movie

Taken was ok – a pretty good action movie.  Nothing too special, but still kept our interest.  I was kind of surprised that Liam Neeson was cast as the dad – he seemed a little old.  Realistic, yes, but Hollywood is not always known for realism.  Made me think I should learn how to hot wire a car.  and pick locks.  Not sure where I can gain those skills…

the_wrestler_poster

I didn’t love The Wrestler.  I guess I just couldn’t relate to the main character on any level.  His failed life, failed career, failed relationships, etc.  Why wouldn’t he do something to fix himself?  I know Mickey Rourke was nominated for lots of awards, and that is great.  But I just couldn’t get into the movie.  I did make me look at WWF events in a whole new light.  And makes me sad that the youth of America is so into violence – makes me scared for the future a little bit.

Anyway, I guess this is why I don’t really love watching movies – sometimes they seem like a waste of time.  But, for Boom, I will gladly waste a few hours, if he really wants.  And sometimes, I do love the movies (Slumdog Millionare).

One response to “Movies

  1. I actually like The Wrester. Rourke actually won a Golden Globe, but I think he could relate pretty well to the character he played.

Leave a Reply

