Read this book, ASAP STAT

16368239

Not a lighthearted book, if that is what you are looking for.  But an incredible story of survival, in northern Africa, and also in the US.  I learned a great deal about the Sudanese civil war (which, formerly, I thought was mainly in Darfur) – some of the whys of the conflict are still a little hazy for me, but I have a much better grasp of it – and about refugee camps – how people can live decades in one, but they are always located where crops cannot be grown or animals raised.  So dependence on foreign aid is inevitable.

I cried and it made me think, marks of a good book to me!  Here is what New York Magazine thought of it.

One response to “Read this book, ASAP STAT

  1. I started it, but the first few pages were even tough so I think it’s going to be a good but difficult (in content) read…

Leave a Reply

