Craft-zilla, Part 2

Years and years ago, I saw this idea in MS Living, and actually got started on it, but never finished it.  I remember I bought shirts from the Clothes Rack in Richmond, VA, and took off their pockets and cut squares and sewed their pockets on different squares.

IMG_2924

So that is as far as I got for years and years – until last weekend.  And, boy, I got a real appreciation for real quilters – even for this faux quilt, it was really hard!

IMG_2925

It wasn’t too hard to sew into long strips… but putting those strips together with each other was another story…

IMG_2926

Even with only 9 squares, it was hard to get the corners to line up (so all of mine did not, opps!).  I was constrained on the amount of fabric to add to the sides and tops based on the wool batting that I had.

IMG_2937

So after I stuffed it and tacked it down (probably not as much as I needed to, but oh well) – my final shirt quilt is this:

IMG_2939I love it so much!  The original plan was to use this as a floor play mat for lil’ Cash Money, but I don’t want him slobbering all over it.  Oh well, I suppose I’ll get over it, but it was a lot of hard work!  So let’s see Martha’s version:

gt_quilt01_l (photo courtesy of Martha Stewart)

I didn’t put the tabs to be able to hang it (since it is supposed to be a floor mat) but I see why people do hand quilts, as they do take a lot of time to make!

Anyway, good experience making a faux quilt, but I am never going to be one of those really skilled and intricate quilters.  Takes more skill and patience than I have. I am sure our little babe will be just fine with this one, hopefully not too much slobber will be drooled on it!

2 responses to “Craft-zilla, Part 2

  1. I love it! Looks fab!

  2. Ruby will make it her own within a week if it is on the floor and she is a major slobberer.

Leave a Reply

