Book Review: The Help

My mother-in-law recommended this book to me, and Boom was kind enough to order it for me – came in quite handy now that I am on bed rest.  I just finished it (took me 2 days) – it is an easy read, and very engaging.  Totally crazy (and scary) that in our parent’s lifetime Jim Crow laws were in effect.  I can’t imagine how hard it would be to be black in the deep South – I am sure they didn’t like Asians much more.

Seems so crazy how mean people can be to other people, just based on their color.  and crazy that all the blacks were raising the white kids, even though the white parents thought the help were dirty and dumb.

She paints a lovely picture of the Junior League as well – too funny!  I know everyone thinks of the Junior League as so southern – ironic that it was started in upstate New York!  I guess the south just adopted it whole heartedly.

Anyway, a good read.  Especially for a first novel!

One response to “Book Review: The Help

  1. Glad you enjoyed it. Your husband and his mother sound pretty awesome!! You are one lucky duck!!

Leave a Reply

