Happy Birthday to ME!

It’s funny, as you get older, birthdays are things you want to try to forget, instead of celebrate. So different from when you are a kid.

I can’t believe it’s been 4 years since I raced 150 miles across the Atacama Desert – that was the 2nd coolest thing I have ever done (the first is being JJ’s mumsie). I am glad that I pushed myself and did that race – I think everyone should do something like that at least once in their lives.

As much as I love my life right now, a small part of me misses me as a badass. Maybe I’ll do ultramarathons again, maybe not. Who knows what the future may bring… As my birthday gift to myself, I am going to remember my time in Chile (you can read an earlier post about it here – looks like I need to scan in my blog posts from the race and put them up sometime…).

Life just seems to work out quite well – when I did the Atacama, it was the culmination of all my selfish years – years of doing whatever Boom and I wanted, whenever we wanted.  And once we were good and ready, Baby J came along and now it is time for our selfless years – can’t be selfish now, and don’t want to be… I figure when I wake up at 445am to go running or go to bootcamp, that is my hour of selfishness for the day.  and that is good enough for now.

3 responses to “Happy Birthday to ME!

  1. You are still a badass! It’s just that now you feats of dominance involve waking up at 4:45, getting a work out in, changing and cleaning JJ, making/feeding him breakfast, playing with him and putting him back to bed all before most people wake up to start their days!

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!
    AND MANY MANY MORE WITH JJ AT YOUR SIDE…….

  3. I agree – still a badass mommy!
    oxox

Leave a Reply

