8 months!

Dearest JJ –

You turned 8 months at the end of our trip up to Cape Cod.  So many changes took place from month 7 – 8.  I commented to Boom that Mother Nature should spread out some of those changes into the first 3 months so that new parents won’t get so discouraged, but I guess that is not how it works.  and sorry for the delayed letter – you were feeling a bit under the weather at the end of our trip, and then traveling home didn’t help matters, so I was a bit underwater once we did finally get home.  Now things are starting to get back into a routine, and with PoPo here to help (thank goodness!), I can finally get this bloggy blog updated!

When we got to the Cape, you were a slow little turtle crawler.  Now you are picking up speed.  And the arm and leg coordination is second nature to you.  You are a sitting pro and don’t really fall over too much anymore.  You still go on your side sometimes, but not nearly as much as last month.  Towards the end of our trip you started pulling up to standing on things – now that is one of your favorite past times!  and we used to try to stand you up to walk with you a bit and you didn’t know what to do with your legs – now you can take a few steps (with our help, of course).

You continue to be an early riser.  More so up on the Cape as all the rooms were closer together up there.  I would really like for you to sleep until 7am, but I guess I don’t have much say in the matter.  Yesterday you woke up at 545am – screaming, and starving, evidently – Dad fed you 10 ounces and then you went back to sleep until 830am.  Maybe that will be our new plan of attack – early bottle to extend your sleep a few hours.

You actually seem to be eating less than before, in terms of solids.  Your liquids are pretty consistent at 20 – 25 ounces.  When you have less than 20 oz, I know the next morning will be quite early.  I started giving you a bottle right before bedtime to help increase the liquid consumption, so that is helpful.

You loved meeting your cousins, aunts, uncles, great aunts and uncles and second cousins.  And they all loved you!  You especially like hanging out with the dudes, both old and young.  My theory is that you are always around the chicks (me, and the moms of other babies) so you really like getting to be with the boys.  You and Dad continue to be BFFs.  It is so adorable how happy you are to see him!  and last night was the first time you babbled “Dada”.

You are lucky to have such a great PoPo (grandmother on your mom’s side) – she loves you more than anything.  She is always willing to hold you and get on the floor to play and feed you and change you and do anything that you need her to.  She is such a great help to me – I will miss her when she leaves (but at least I know she’ll be back at the end of August!).  PoPo always keeps a running commentary to you in Chinese, so I hope you are paying attention and retaining a little bit of the language.

The first few days back home you were not yourself.  I think all the travel really took a toll on you.  You were super fussy and just not a happy dude.  But now, I think you are back to normal.  You smile a lot and giggle and are happy baby.

You really love having your 2 fingers in your mouth – I am not crazy about it, but I guess all babies are very oral at this age.  Which you definitely are – everything goes right into your mouth for inspection.  Even sand, multiple times, and even after it was clear you did not like the taste of it!

I have had a blast with you this past month – it has been so amazing to see how much you have changed!  You are active, but nothing compared to how you will be in just a few months.  Everyone says that I am a lucky mom, to have such a great baby.  I totally agree, and you are not too hard on the eyes either (a.k.a. the most adorable baby EVER!).  I love you so much and love that we can have fun together day after day.

Love,

Mummy

3 responses to “8 months!

  1. JJ – you are becoming your own little dude this month. Not seeing you for 30 days, I can’t believe how much you’ve grown. You are still the sweetest and cutest little boy ever. Love you tons and tons –

    your favorite auntie 🙂

  2. Bam Bam,

    I can’t believe it has already been 8 months and am amazed at how big you are getting. You are getting really tall, but seem to be slowing down in your weight gain so starting to look really skinny. I am having a hard time keeping those diapers on you once I get them on. Getting them on is a chore in itself, because once the old one is off it is like you are making a jail break. You immediately flip over onto your stomach, hop up on all fours and your head looks like it is on a swivel seeking the best escape route. I usually grab you by the waist to keep you in one spot, but your arms and legs are in full crawl mode. It is pretty funny to watch you move so fast and keep looking over your shoulder like you are getting away, but not actually be moving. We both usually end up giggling.

    I missed you are Tingaling very much while you were up visiting family on CC, but I am glad that you got to spend some time up there to get to know everyone. I hope that as you get a little older you will really start to enjoy going up to CC for the summer and playing with your cousins.

    It is great to have you back in the house and I know you are excited to get back with all of your friends and show off your high speed crawling and masterful sitting skills.

    My favorite parts of the day are when I see you first thing in the morning and you smile and when I walk in the door at the end of the day and you smile. I have so much fun getting you all worked up and hearing you giggle and watching you flail your arms around. I have noticed lately that when I pick you up you actually try to give me a big hug. Your arms are out soo wide and your lay against me and snug up against me. It is great.

    I can’t wait to hang out with you all day tomorrow and play!

    Love,
    Dad

  3. Love these letters, Tinger and Boom:)! and LOVE those ruddy little cheeks – I want to eat them!!!!

Leave a Reply

