All Crafted Out

Last week, Boom was out of town Thursday thru Sunday morning.  So, on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights, after I put the boy down (around 545pm  -615pm), I would grab a bit to eat myself, tidy up a little and then craft!  I was working on getting Baby J and Brady Gaga’s Easter baskets completed.  Brady Gaga is due March 17, and Easter is in the beginning of April, I know I won’t have time to do anything once BG arrives.

So, Thursday night I probably crafted 3 hours, until around 11pm.  Friday night – another 3 hours, but I got started earlier, so until around 10pm.  By Saturday, after two nights of blood, sweat and tears (literally – well, not the tears, but definitely the blood and sweat!) I only had to get the tails on the bunny baskets, and good thing…  I was feeling (GASP!) totally and utterly over crafting!  But I do LOVE how they turned out:

I can’t take credit for the idea – I found the link in the Easter archives of One Pretty Thing.  So the main inspiration for these bunny baskets came from Lavender and Limes, but I didn’t even follow her tut.  I just made the buckets that I know how to make (modified slightly), added ears, a handle, a tail and embroidered a face and name / date on the back.

This project definitely is not for the faint of heart.  A lot more hand sewing than I am used to, as I used fabric covered buttons for the eyes (since I couldn’t seem to find any regular buttons, but those would have required hand sewing as well) and part of the tail.  And then all the embroidery for the faces and Baby J’s names, and 2 dates (I didn’t embroider ‘Brady Gaga’ onto the striped basket, though I was tempted to for a bit).

And the tail – I wanted to have a nice, fluffy pompom for the tail, but I made a couple and realized that yarn can be pulled out of the pompom (at least the ones I made) and that would not be good for babies.  So I had to come up with something more secure: two loops of twill tape crossing each other with a larger twill tape covered button in the middle.  I think the tails came out pretty cute, considering they are much safer than the pompoms that I made.

The only thing I would really change are the ears – I gave them the same amount of padding and interfacing as the rest of the basket, and they didn’t need it.  Overall, I really love them.  I hope Baby J and Brady Gaga do as well.

Here’s Mister McCute himself:

He’s all, I love my snack and your crafting, Mama!

4 responses to “All Crafted Out

  1. So cute – I’m very impressed! The green stripes will be perfect for a boy or girl, love it!! 🙂

  2. Good lookin baskets. Those are some lucky little babies!! JJ looks like he is leading a kung foo class in the shot there at the end! Hiiii-Yahhhh!!

  3. How cute! Gosh, that is impressive, they are so detailed! And I love the modification on the tails! How special, that you made them their very own Easter baskets ! Not every kid can say their mommy did that!

  4. a lot of works and loves go into those basket…..

Leave a Reply

