No Rest for the Weary

Brady Gaga update:  There is actually not too much to update.  As of Monday, I am 1 cm dialated, but that really doesn’t mean too much. BG has until 730am on March 24th to arrive on his / her terms.  At that point, the doc will be going in to retrieve him / her!  Let’s all hope s/he will be ready to come out before then!

However, I have made some progress with some of BG’s items-to-be-made:

Here is his / her 5th and final receiving blanket – yellow seersucker with kelly green bias tape edging.  For the record, gingham edging on the bias is SO cute!  Much cuter than just cutting the gingham straight.  I used a whole yard of gingham to make real bias tape, so I have lots of it now…

Many thanks to Dana for her excellent tutorial!  It really wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  (I also want to try my hand at making basic pants for JJ with this other tutorial of hers.)  I seriously don’t know what I would do without all these great tuts out in blogland (probably have a lot more free time – hehehe)!  Many thanks!

And I have made the edging, cut the back and inside of BG’s monthly picture bunting blanket.  The big news is I finally sewed all the actual buntings onto the front of it!  Had to iron them all down (since I actually fused them to the front fabric) and then machine applique them on 2 sides.

The tops of the buntings will be covered with bias tape that matches the fabric for the name that will go across the top of the blanket.  All that will have to wait until BG’s arrives – so everything that I can do I have done for this blanket.  Which is good.

And JJ and I are still up to our usual shinanagans…

Playgroup fun:

(Jack is getting a haircut today – his baby mullet is getting to be too much!)

Hanging out with friends (and large safari animals – JJ loves Ginger the Giraffe!):

And of course enjoying the great weather at our neighborhood park (our lovely home-away-from-home):

Last week was great since Boom took Friday off and we got to spend time together for 3 straight days!

The only issue with the nice weather is that the parks in the neighborhood get totally packed and chaotic!  There are people who drive in (probably takes them 20 minutes!) to use my neighborhood parks.  Which is kind of annoying – you’d think they’d just use some parks out where they live.  Sigh – oh well.

 

2 responses to “No Rest for the Weary

  1. Can’t wait to see the new haircut! You have been a crafting machine! Counting down the days…to Joe’s arrival, Brady’s arrival and my coming home 🙂

  2. The new haircut is the bomb. JJ looks like he could be the face of Baby Gap! Zoolander may have had “Ice Blue”, but it pales in comparison to JJ’s “Black Ice”! Note the Zebra shot above if you want to get a little taste of that penetrating stare.

Leave a Reply

