Five!

Dearest Little DD* –

Wow – I can’t believe that you are 5 months old!  The big news this month is that you have cut your first tooth!  I can’t believe that either – your toothless grin will be no longer!  And you did so in your own, laid back fashion – no fussing, no fever, no rashes, no weird poops – unlike your bro who had all the textbook / old wives tale symptoms.  We had been noticing that you were drooling a lot and chewing on your hands – so I thought I should take a look in your little mouth… how surprised was I when I felt your little tooth in the middle of your gums!

You really are a remarkably good baby.  Sometimes I marvel at how good you are!  I guess I am really marveling at how lucky Dada and I are – the only time you cry is when you are hungry or tired.  and you are much more quick to smile at this age than your brother was.

We’ve been working on sitting up this month and you are doing a great job!  I am really going to enjoy the brief window when you can sit up on your own but not crawl yet.  I think your brother will really think it is so neat when you are able to sit up alone!

Your schedule is pretty good these days – you usually get up between 715 – 8am, eat (bottle and solids!) and then are up for around 1.5 hours.  Then it is your first nap – with the addition of solids, you have been taking  a great morning nap – usually around 2 hours.  and we just started giving you solids at your 4th meal before bedtime and that has been helpful in eliminating night wakings and keeping you from getting up super early in the morning.

We took you to the pool for the first time the other week.  You did not seem to mind the water at all – just chillaxed in your shaded float-y thing – never fussed or anything!  But wow, it was a lot of work for such a little guy!  J certainly thought it was really cool to have you there with him.

Here are 2 of your biggest fans (aside from JJ, Dada and me, of course) – you’ve gotten to see a lot of PoPo and Auntie Yarbs this month.  Which is very good – it has been so long since you had seen PoPo that you were a little unsure when she first held you.  But after a feeding or two, you guys were fast friends.  She and Auntie Yarbs love you so so much!

Just like your brother, you love to get Dada’s nose!  He thinks that we are twinks… looks wise and also you are much more vocal than J was at this age.  So maybe you will be a talker like me.  I love to hear your little voice!  You sound so much like your brother, it is almost uncanny.  Lately, after your 2 later meals, you’ve been talking up a storm!  We love all your stories!

Your brother really loves you a lot!  He is even willing to share Dog and his new red train with you – two of his most prized possessions!  And he knows which toys are yours and always brings something over to you so you can have a toy to play with.

Little D, I love you so much.  You are the perfect addition to our little family – every time I see you I have to smile.  You are just perfect!  and although having 2 babies is logistically a challenge, you make things as easy on Mama as possible.  Thank you for being such a good baby!

Love,

Mama

* DD is what the Mandarin word for “little brother” sounds like – we all call you DD!

4 responses to “Five!

  1. I didn’t think I could love another baby as much as I love JJ but DD proved me wrong. He is getting cuter and cuter by the day! I will be sad when he only goes to Mama like JJ does now 🙂

  2. my lovely pao-pao (precious treasure), you are such a great and perfect baby, always ready to give a big smile, always ready for me to hold you tightly, I love love love you …

    po po

  3. DD,

    This has been a really exciting month with you making a few developmental leaps. You are eating solids now and have enjoyed bananas, rice cereal with prune juice, carrots, apples, sweet potatoes and avacados. You seem to be doing well with all of them. The solids seem to be sticking to your ribs a little bit which is leading to longer naps in the morning and sleeping through most nights. You take after your Mama and JJ in that you are turning into a regular rack monster.

    You are also just about the biggest baby I have ever seen. When I am playing with you I am always amazed at how long you are and how sturdy you are. You seem to have gained control of your neck and head much earlier than JJ did which probably has some to do with you being bigger and having gone full term. When I look at you on the baby monitor I feel like you look about the same size as JJ did when he was 1 years old. We keep telling JJ that as the big brother he has to keep an eye out for you and make sure you are safe. He has embraced the responsibility going so far as to remind Mama every few hours that she once let you roll off the day bed. He will point accusingly at Mama and then run over to the day bed and yell repeatedly “DD! Fall!, DD! Fall!” In a few months though I think I may have to start telling you to watch out for JJ since you might soon be the physically bigger brother.

    Like Mama said you also came through with your first tooth this month and other than a lot of drooling and working over of your first and fingers no one would have been the wiser. You are a tough little hombre and nothing seems to get you too worked up, with the exception of course of a full bottle in your line of vision that has not yet been inserted into your waiting pie hole. You are like JJ in that respect in that you don’t have a lot of patience for poor service!

    You have the biggest smiles and are not stingy with them at all. Whenever you catch my eye you usually break out with a big one tooth grin so that I have not option, but to grab you and play with you and sing you some songs.

    We are a few months away from you sitting up on your own and it should coincide nicely with the chaging of the weather so we can start taking you and JJ to the park together to play. JJ really has a soft spot for you and affectionately refers to you as “DD or My Baby!” He is always trying to make sure you have a toy to play with and gives you a kiss and pat pat every morning and night. Mama and I can’t wait to see you guys playing together.

    I love you very much and miss you every day when I am at work,
    Dad

  4. oh my gosh, what a sweet comment by daddy! : ) and ting, it’s a good thing you have a blog, i just had lunch with you and had no idea all of this was going on with fisher! wow, cutting a tooth and solids! what a big deal! congrats little buddy! when bekah starts going to school, tell fisher i will be stopping by to get some cuddle time with him! : ) i miss him!

Leave a Reply

